Australian Banana Growers' Council Appoints New CEO


The Australian Banana Growers' Council (ABGC) announced the appointment of Leanne Erakovic as its new Chief Executive Officer following the retirement of Jim Pekin.

Ms Erakovic's appointment follows a lengthy and thorough selection process managed by a specialist recruitment firm. She has been with the ABGC for six years as an Executive Officer.

ABGC Chair Stephen Lowe welcomed the appointment and said he had no doubt Ms Erakovic was well equipped to advocate and represent the industry, ensuring the long-term sustainability for all growers and the wider industry and strategic planning.

Ms Erakovic has a bachelor's degree in science and owned and operated two small businesses early in her career. She said: "Over the past six years I have been an active advocate for banana growers in my role as Executive Officer and I look forward to continuing this close relationship with members and industry at large." Ms Erakovic will succeed in the position of CEO Jim Pekin, who has led the ABGC over the past 11 years, from 17 November 2022.